Fashion Faves: 1st Entry – Burberry Prorsum S/S 2015

For months on end, I tirelessly, relentlessly, incessantly searched and sifted though piles and piles of clutter and dusty, old, crappy boxes in my garage.  Where in the hell did I put my beloved Crayola Crayons?!?  Well, I do declare!  Burberry found my box of Crayola crayons, got real excited and… voila! A  collection was born! That’s right my friends, I found my answer… in the form of the Burberry Prorsum Spring 2015 menswear runaway show – quite literally, a box of Crayola crayons come to life 🙂

*Sigh* Crayons. Coloring…such a warm embracing memory of my youth. A symbol of childhood for many. Heck, coloring with Crayola crayons is a rite of passage! Oh, I can still picture myself as a young child all giddy and full of excitement as I opened up a brand new box of crayons.  And what a beautiful sight it was… seeing all the bright, vivid colors of freshly sharpened crayons gleaming like a glittery rainbow in a box!  I just loved to outline the coloring book pictures with markers first and then fill in the spaces with the corresponding crayon color.  The bold sharp ink of the marker paired with the soft “shade like” ink of the crayon added so much depth and interest to my finished “paintings.”  Well, I know what you all are probably thinking, “That’s pretty deep for a child Mr. James.”  Yes, your absolutely correct. I was a very philosophical child. Don’t hate!  Anyway, as I viewed the looks Burberry sent down the runway, It was truly like my coloring book leapt off the page and sashayed down the catwalk. This was most notable by the fact that ensembles in saturated colors were off set by bright pops of color in accent pieces. For example, gorgeous and rich burgundy suits were highlighted with bright and bold blood-red scarves and linen pants in a soft lavender like color were paired with a deep velvet plum jacket. Color me fabulous!

Well… you can imagine my disappointment when Mr. Bailey proclaimed that his muse for this collection was none other than constant traveler Mr. Bruce Chatwin (and not my beloved Crayola crayons!). Color me shocked! SHOCKED. First of all…who?!?  Secondly…traveling?!? With some digging, I discovered that Mr. Chatwin was a very well-known British novelist and pioneering travel writer.  Oh!  Upon further research, I learned that  Mr. Chatwin had a sexless marriage with his wife Elizabeth Chanler, was bisexual, and was one of the first well-known men in England where the public knew of his HIV status (to which he tried to conceal by falsely telling people he had malaria and a fungal infection). Yep, things just got a lot more interesting. There’s a story there and it appears to be a really good one. The kind of story that would make for an amazing movie… one with Oscar buzz. Especially if it featured a certain Mr. Gosling. No? Okay, he’s not British, but he does sort of resemble Mr. Chatwin…sort of.  Or…any of the fine young British actors like Charlie Hunnam, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Andrew Garfield, Eddie Redmayne, Tom Hardy, Tom Hiddleston or even Robert Pattinson…as a blonde…yea…let that marinate for a while. I could see anyone of these actors accepting an Academy Award for their heartfelt and poignant portrayal of Mr. Chatwin.  And who wouldn’t want the honor to play him?  Oops, it appears I’ve gotten waaayyy off subject.  Haven’t I? Oh well!

Anyway, Mr. Chatwin aside, just like Forrest Gump taught us all that, “life is like a box of chocolates.” Burberry has taught us that style, “is like a box of Crayola Crayons!” Especially, for spring.

Okay. This post is long as hell. In the words of Ms. Karen Walker from Will & Grace, “Lord, that was exhausting. I am assisting blogging my ASS off!” Below are my favorite faves for Burberry Prorsum Spring 2015 Menswear. Enjoy!

(all images from style.com)

_ARC0042_1366x2048_ARC0085_1366x2048_ARC0103_1366x2048_ARC0181_1366x2048_ARC0262_1366x2048_ARC0299_1366x2048_ARC0333_1366x2048_ARC0376_1366x2048_ARC0460_1366x2048_ARC0486_1366x2048_ARC0085_1366x2048_ARC0627_1366x2048_ARC0181_1366x2048_ARC0722_1366x2048signature (2)

What do you think? Love my choices? Hate them? If you have a butthole then you have an opinion…and now would be a good time to share it! Comment below (but please be respectful).

8 thoughts on “Fashion Faves: 1st Entry – Burberry Prorsum S/S 2015

  1. necessities123editor

    If I may say the collection is a bit “deja vu” – it’s colorful but not original… We’ve seen the similar colorful sneakers from D2Squared, Valentino, even Ferragamo last season… Orange was “a must” last season and back in 2013. It’s different from what we normally expect from Burberry, who kept on de-structuring their traditional patterns and colors. I believe the impression would be better without those feminine hats. :-O

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. mistercarpenter Post author

      Hi Necessities! So glad you commented! I always look forward to your opinion regarding these collections! I agree with you about the floppy hats. You’ll notice I made it a point not to mention them in my post…because I’m not fond of them LOL. Thanks so much for stopping by and for your comment. Much appreciated 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

