Fashion Faves: 2nd Entry – Berluti S/S 2015

Inspiration is a very elusive thing.  It can come basically at anytime and anywhere.  The same can be said for the source of inspiration.  Anything can inspire you, at least that’s the case with me!  Music, moves, photographs, fashion, different countries.  Yes, all of it is fair game.  I must admit, I get inspired in some of the most… um… unusual places if you will.  In the shower, at work on a phone call, on the toilet seat, at 2:30 AM in the morning, watching a car exit on the highway… in the wrong direction.  Ah, the possibilities for sources of inspiration are endless!

Fun story:  I often ride the train into work every morning (traffic is horrendous, trust) and boy oh boy can that turn out to be a very, uh… let’s say, interesting endeavor.  You never know who’s going to rob a bank and think hopping aboard the train is a good idea (hint: it isn’t) or experience a major delay in travel as someone yet again decides to jump on to the train tracks in front of a moving train.  And then there is the old standby – Creepy dude who likes to expose and play with himself in public!  Yes, my bow ties, yes.  I had the wonderful honor and pleasure of meeting said gentlemen on the train one fateful morning.  Picture it.  There I was minding my own business listening to one Miss Janet Jackson on my headphones, and here this guy was going to town and back and totally ruining my otherwise non-eventful journey to work.  Uh…RUDE!!!  Well, I wasn’t about to just sit there and take it! Nope!  I composed  myself, dug deep, and with dignity and class I held my head high, got up out my seat and… got the HELL out of there! 🙂  In the haste of it all, I just happened to see out of the corner my eye, a painting… a watercolor painting.  Ah Ha! That’s what was missing in my life.  I was an artist and needed to paint… using the watercolor technique.

Oh, I could see it clearly.  It had a moody and somber tone.  It made me feel like I was in a lush and beautiful but very humid garden where a light almost mist like rain would begin to fall while fog gracefully weaved its way around the green foliage.  Kind of romantic wouldn’t you say?  However, there was one small problem.  I DON’T PAINT!!! Worse, I don’t have the tools/utensils/equipment or whatever you call it for that mess.  Thankfully, Berluti was there to save the day.  Whereas Burberry took my Crayola crayons, Berluti took my watercolor paint brushes!  And what a beautiful watercolor painting it was.  Georgia O’Keeffe? Amateur.  James McNeill Whistler? Embarrassing.  The Berluti Spring 2015 menswear collection?  A fine example of watercolor painting genius!

The Berluti show was like a walk in the park, literally! Really, the runway show actually took place in a park (a garden in the engineering school at Ecole des Mines in Paris in fact).  The color palette of muted tones set against the lush green landscape of the gardens really gave the impression that the looks simply leapt off the canvas and strutted down the catwalk.  Of course, the standard articles of men’s clothing were still there.  However, they were given a new take, one that was light, fluid and somewhat more casual in tone.  Need a leather jacket, but just are not in the mood for the heavy and chunkiness of it all? Bertluti has your answer.  In fact, I like to think of Berluti’s Spring collection as menswear light.  And that’s a good thing!  Think of it, all your favorite staple pieces transformed into a buoyant, carefree version.  Like a breath of fresh air with a hint of mint.  I don’t know about you, but these looks definitely suggest that spring has finally sprung (unfortunately, the creepy man on the train had the same idea but for an entirely different reason).  Below are my favorite faves for the spring 2015 Berluti menswear collection. Enjoy!

(All images from style.com)

*Click pictures for a bigger version

 

Berluti - Men's Spring 2015, Look 38Berluti - Men's Spring 2015, Look 31Berluti - Men's Spring 2015, Look 26Berluti - Men's Spring 2015, Look 23Berluti - Men's Spring 2015, Look 19Berluti - Men's Spring 2015, Look 14 Berluti - Men's Spring 2015, Look 13

Berluti - Men's Spring 2015, Look 10

Berlut - Men's Spring 2015, Look 16

signature (2)

What do you think? Love my choices? Hate them? If you have a butthole then you have an opinion…and now would be a good time to share it! Comment below (but please be respectful).

4 thoughts on “Fashion Faves: 2nd Entry – Berluti S/S 2015

  1. Mojisola Obazuaye

    I loved your choices. Love the mix of mustard and brown so much, giving me life. Would love to see you in the mustard and brown mix☺ you will look fly ☺ Love the green….khaki. I agree with finding inspiration every where Mr James.
    Have a lovely day and God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

