The Met Gala 2015: Best Dressed Men!

So okay, I know I’ve been a little MIA recently, but I have a great excuse!  You see, I really don’t remember the last couple of days (i.e. week and a half) due to basically blacking out all because of excruciating and throbbing pain in my hip area. Thankfully, there is a wonderful invention called… a DRUG!!! Hallelujah, praise the Lord!  And who doesn’t love a drug every now and then… right? LOL

Now, although I’ve been pill popping and as a result,  high as a kite these last few days (fun times, don’t I know it), it still did not prevent my eyeballs from seeing, translating, digesting, and comprehending all that is the Met Gala 2015! And boy oh boy was there a lot to see (my eyeballs are still recovering… practically).  The Met Ball… wait… Costume Institute Gala… no… Met Gala (Ding! Ding! Ding!) is a fancy shindig put on by fashion big wigs (i.e. Anna Wintour) at the Metropolitan Museum of Arts.  Its an annual fundraising (yes, fundraising) event that helps keep the Museum’s Costume Institute exhibit alive.  That’s right!  This is one of the few red carpets were the main event actually is about F-A-S-H-I-O-N.  What a concept!

Of course, all this is fine and dandy, but let’s face it… who freakin’ cares! This event is one of the most exclusive soirées the world has ever seen.  To get an invite to this thing is no easy feat. I mean, unless your a well dressed billionaire, a well dressed A-Lister, Beyoncé, or a well dressed Jesus, YOU ARE NOT GETTING IN! Translation: Non invitees are not valuable well dressed human beings. Ouch!  Now, considering that this event is only for the very beautiful, well dressed, wealthy and important skinny people, I know you bow ties were perplexed as to why I was not in attendance. Well, I was invited. In fact, I was to attend with my BFF Ms. Amal Alamuddin, but as I mentioned previously, I was dealing with a nasty injury. I will say that my BFF Ms. Alamuddin and her actor hubby put on a brave face for me… bravo to them.

Since we’re talking about the Met Gala, we also have to talk about “themes”. I love me a good theme and apparently so does the Met Gala. This year was no exception as the subject of the  exhibit was, “China: Through the Looking Glass”.  Judging from the pictures of celebrities at this event, some took this theme to heart by showing up practically butt naked in “see-through” expensive gowns (I see you Beyoncé, J. Lo and Kim K. in a dress that Beyoncé wore last year).  However, the theme was actually exploring how western fashion is influenced by Chinese aesthetics, how China itself has historically served as fashion inspiration, and how high fashion is juxtaposed with  Chinese costumes and other art to reveal reflections of “enchanting” Chinese imagery… or something.  Oh! Well, guess a few attendees missed that little memo didn’t they? Ha!

Anyway, although a lot of emphasis was placed on the elaborate and astronomically expensive haute couture gowns that sashayed down the red carpet, the gentlemen in attendance did not disappoint in the fashion department. There were tuxedos, gorgeous double-breasted suits, and my personal favorite,  tails…TAILS! How often do you get to see gentlemen wearing tailcoats now days? Not often, my bow ties, not often. So, let’s all take a moment and breath in the debonair fashion and savor it while we can. It’s the 2015 Met Gala, best dressed men. Enjoy!

Mr. Jay-Z in a gorgeous double-breasted black tuxedo. Well done.

2015 Met Gala - Mr. Jay-Z

The Metropolitan Museum of Art's COSTUME INSTITUTE Benefit Celebrating the Opening of China: Through the Looking Glass - Red Carpet Arrivals

Mr. Common, in a delicious chocolate brown Prada tuxedo. Good enough to eat!

2015 Met Gala - Mr. Common (Prada)

Mr. Michael B. Jordan. Mr. Jordan is my best dressed of the night in this Dolce & Gabbana three-piece suit.

2015 Met Gala - Mr. Michael B. Jordan (Dolce & Gabbana) 001

departs The Mark Hotel for the Met Gala at the Metropolitan Muse

2015 Met Gala - Mr. Michael B. Jordan (Docle & Gabbana) 003

Mr. George Clooney in TAILS! Love it!

2015 Met Gala - Mr. George Clooney

Mr. Neil Patrick Harris and Mr. David Burtka…in TAILS! A double dose no less!

2015 Met Gala - Mr. Neil Patrick Harris & David Burtka

Mr. John Legend…in TAILS! Gotta love it!

2015 Met Gala - Mr. John Legend

When you think of the Met Gala your brain automatically conjures up all kinds of images of professional star athletes right? No. Hahaha! Hey now, hey now… these gentlemen clean up rather nicely I think. So much so that they have earned best dressed of the night. A+ Gentlemen.

Mr. Kelly Slater

2015 Met Gala - Mr. Kelly Slater

Mr. Aaron Rogers (Cheese heads rejoice!)

GTY 472229534 E ACE USA NY

Mr. Derek Jeter (proving that baseball players can and should wear a tux more often…am I right?  Especially if its Rag & Bone like Mr. Jeter’s here).

2015 Met Gala - Mr. Derek Jeter (Rag & Bone)

Mr. Dwayne Wade (what do we think of this… uh…regal get up bow ties?)

2015 Met Gala - Mr. Dwayne Wade

Mr. P. Diddy

2015 Met Gala - Mr. P. Diddy

Mr. Usher Raymond

2015 Met Gala - Mr. Usher Raymond

Mr. Zac Posen

2015 Met Gala - Mr. Zac Posen

Mr. Andy Cohen in Ralph Lauren

"China: Through The Looking Glass" Costume Institute Benefit Gala - Arrivals

Mr. Adrien Brody in Dolce & Gabbana

2015 Met Gala - Mr. Adrien Brody (Dolce & Gabbana)

Mr. Ansel Elgort in Tom Ford

2015 Met Gala - Ansel Elgort (Tom Ford)

Mr. Robert Pattinson

2015 Met Gala - Mr. Robert Pattinson

Mr. Matt Bomer in Georgio Armani

2015 Met Gala - Mr. Matt Bomer (Giorgio Armani)

(Images: Larry Busacca 2015 Getty Images, Dimitrios Kambouris 2015 Getty Images, Getty, Jamie McCarthy 2015 FilmMagic, Kevin Mazur 2015, Julian Mackler/BFA, Andrew Toth 2015 Getty Images, Alessandro Garofalo)

signature (2)

What do you think? Love my choices? Hate them? If you have a butthole then you have an opinion…and now would be a good time to share it! Comment below (but please be respectful).

10 thoughts on “The Met Gala 2015: Best Dressed Men!

  1. Dana

    ooooh la la la la la and all the las in between. I am like seriously oggling this page, and I´m pretty sure that is wrong on all so many levels but the gentlemen style at the Met, is just on point. (as I would say always) On point and then some.

    Not a fan of Bey´s dress tbh
    Huge fan of Zac posen, Adrien Brody and Mr. Pattinson! Loving this post too much

    It sucks that your hip is playing tricks on you, I hope you are feeling better, Get well soon, wishing you all the best! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. mistercarpenter Post author

      Hi Dana! Yes, I like Zac Posen as well. Thank you so much for visiting the Academy. I always love reading your comments and look forward to them as well…and I’m so glad someone liked Adrien Brody’s attire 🙂 Thanks for the well wishes, I am feeling better everyday!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Traci Smith

    Interesting, I wish more blogs and media would focus on mens fashion. I just said I wanted to write about it more myself. I think Micheal B. Jordan and Adrien Brody was my favorite. Also cute video on the bow tie! Hope you feel better! Great blog!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. mistercarpenter Post author

      Hi Traci! Yes, it is hard to find blogs devoted solely to men’s fashion so the more the merrier! I’m glad you like the bow tie video and thanks so much for stopping by and for you comment 🙂 And yes, I am feeling better… Thank you for asking! Don’t be a stranger!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

