Fashion Spotlight: The Incredible Misty Copeland!

Okay, I am very aware that (1) Misty Copeland is not a gentlemen and (2) this post does not feature men’s clothing as per the usual. However, I must say that I do hold the belief that the mere fact that women are… women… makes them fabulous! Yes, women are indeed fabulous, but sometimes women are so fabulous that they reach epic proportions of fabulosity. And when this happens, The Gentlemen’s Style Academy cannot and will not ignore it! Hence, when a women is extra ferociously fabulous, I can’t help but take note (I don’t think I’ve said fabulous enough LOL). Case in point, Misty Copeland. See below:

Misty Copeland - Headshot (1)

Wow!  After 14 years…. 14 YEARS, Ms. Copeland finally became the first African-American ballerina to be promoted to principal dancer at  the American Ballet Theatre.  Despite the negativity, racism, prejudices, discrimination, rejection, disappointment, and any and all other obstacles that stood before her, she made it.  And she did so with dignity, poise, class and a helluva fashion sense. Try pulling that one off! As someone with a dance background, I can’t begin to tell you just how difficult and astonishing achieving this feat in the ballet world truly is. Ms. Copeland is the true definition of strength and inspiration. So much so, I broke my own rule to feature her, a women, in my fashion spotlight post – the first GSA post dedicated entirely to a woman and her amazing fashion sense.  This is what happens when your fabulosity reaches unheard of proportions.  And no, I haven’t forgotten about my MFPITW (Ms. Janet).

See the fierceness of Misty Copeland (and try to catch some for yourself) below.  We shall overcome… indeed!

Ballet Fierceness!

Misty Copland - Magazine Editorial

Misty Copeland - Artistic (1)

Misty Copeland - Artistic (2)

Misty Copland - Artistic (3)

Le Corsaire

Fashion Fierceness!

American Ballet Theater 75th  Gala

Misty Copeland - Red Carpet (4)

2015 Time 100 Gala

Misty Copeland - Red Carpet (5)

Misty Copeland - Red Carpet (2)

Misty Copeland - Tony Awards - Red Carpet (6)

Misty Copeland - Red Carpet (1)

Misty Copeland - Headshot (2)

(images: Jade Young, Nisian Hughes, Christopher Duggan, Ivan Nikolov/WENN.com, Andrew Toth/FilmMagic, internet)

signature (2)

What do you think? Love my choices? Hate them? If you have a butthole then you have an opinion…and now would be a good time to share it! Comment below (but please be respectful).

12 thoughts on “Fashion Spotlight: The Incredible Misty Copeland!

  1. moonstone34

    Can we all just take a moment and bow down to the incredibly fierce Misty Copeland! I was so excited when I read the news! Not only is it well deserved but so historic too. And you got love that her style is on point too, she’s the perfect package!
    Xo, Jackie
    stylemydreams.com

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. My Fashion S/ash Life

    ‘If you have a butthole, you have an opinion’-HAHAHA, can i quote you??! Not familiar with Misty but boy am i glad i am now! I’ve been styling for years now and I love working with dances and fusing fashion with movement, so Misty would be a dream to work with. I wish her even more success!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

